top of page

What is Reiki?


Reiki ​is a form of folk medicine known as energy healing. The word Reiki is derived from two Japanese words "Rei" and "Ki." Rei meaning higher power, spiritual wisdom, or soul. Ki meaning life force energy, field of energy, vital energy or prana

Ki is present in our atmosphere, around us and within us. The seamless flow of Ki allows us to experience balance, peacefulness and wellbeing. Blockage and stagnation of Ki is often the cause of emotional and physical health imbalances.


In a Reiki session, the Reiki practitioner targets the energy field around the body, the 7 chakras in the body and any specific areas of the body that may be affected, in an effort to transfer life force energy. This transference of energy releases any Ki stagnation and brings the body back to balance. Reiki may be offered as hands-on healing or distance healing. 

Though Reiki has been used as a healing modality in the East for centuries, the exact dates of its beginnings are unknown. It has travelled through India, Tibet and China before being rediscovered by Dr. Mikao Usui in the early 1800.


During a 21-day monastic practice on Mount Kurama, Dr. Usui had a spiritual awakening. In his meditation, he saw ancient Sanskrit symbols. These symbols, later, helped him create the Usui Reiki system of healing.

Today, Usui Reiki and other forms of energy healing are practiced all across the world, bringing relief, peace, and harmony to all. 


releases stress & tension

heals anxiety & depression

helps instill inner peace

clears out negative thoughts

encourages mental clarity

enhances personal awareness

promotes creativity


eases pain 

releases muscle tension

clears toxins 

balances chakras

increases energy

promotes deep sleep

strengthens immune system


promotes mindfulness


helps connect with your higher self

reveals soul purpose

creates awareness towards

inner wisdom

strengthens intuition

helps experience spiritual awakenings

5 Reiki Principles

How Reiki Can Help

Just for today

(kyo dakewa)

I will not get angry


I will not worry

(shinpai suna)

I will be grateful

(kansha shite)

I will work diligently

(gyo wo hageme)

I will be kind to all living beings

(hito ni shinshetsu ni)

bottom of page